Day Walks
Away Trips
Chase Walk
Forest Evasion
Club Rules
Contact Us

Southampton University Hillwalking Club

The SUHC 2016/2017 Committee

Here are your hillwalking club committee members as elected by you, our loyal hillwalkers. The club is run entirely by these current students.

Committee 2016-17, Easter Formal 2016

Sroll down to see the roles of the individual committee members!

Matt Clark- President

Matt, President

Hi folks, I'm Matt and I'm your club President for this year.

So what do I do? Well, it's my responsibility to ensure that the club keeps functioning smoothly and that the Committee and members are happy. My main aim is to better engage with our members: making sure you have a say in what the club does, where we go and better advertising of our events all of you. The club has quite a legacy, and I want to build on that to make it even better than it already is! So feel free to contact me or the club if you have any questions, reccomendations or simply want to find out more! :)

Pete Felton- Secretary/VP

Pete, Vice President and Secretary

Hi, I'm Pete and I'm the Vice President and Secretary. Much of my work is behind the scenes with the day to day running of the club and assisting Matt. I look forward to seeing you all, particularly on the socials!

Artur Fernandes- Treasurer

Artur, Treasurer

Hello everyone! My name is Artur Fernandes and I am your Treasurer for this year!

Most of my work will be done behind the scenes; I will be working hard to guarantee that all the trips and events are paid for and covered! I will also be the person you hand your money to for events, as well as the one chasing you if you haven't!

I look forward to seeing you all on trips and events! -Artur

Tom Veall and James Marshall- Day Walk Secretaries

Hi, every Saturday we lead you on walks in the countryside around Southampton. Most walks are only a short train ride away so aren't too pricey, although occasionally we will be venturing a little further afield! Hoping to see you on a walk soon!

Tom, Day Walk SecJames, Day Walk Sec

Jake Middleton and Arshad Emmambux- Away Trip Secretaries

Hey, we are the Away Trip Secs for this year and we're in charge of getting you around the country to some of the best places to walk in Britain! Hopefully you'll enjoy the weekends away to places like Snowdonia, Lake District and Brecon Beacons. We are also in charge of cooking for you on the trips so you'd better be nice to us!! Feel free to ask us any questions you have about Away Trips.

Jake, Away Trip SecArshad, Away Trip Sec

Zélie Seddon and Olivia Burbridge - Social Secretaries

Hi everyone! We are your social secs for 2016/17. Hi everyone! We are you social secs for 2016/2017. We'll be organising all the society's social events. From karaoke nights to Jesters, from sports days to house parties we've got a lot planned and hopefully something for everyone, so stay tuned...

Olivia and Zélie, Social Secs

Fancy being on the committee?

That's great news! The committee is elected at the end of February/start of March each year at our Anual General Meeting, so come along to that and stand for your desired position! Any current Southampton student can stand for any position (although it is preferrable if the candidate(s) for President have been on the SUHC committee previously).

Details of how to stand for committee positions will be posted on our Facebook page at least a month in advance. You don't need experience, all you need is the enthusiasm! Full on-the-job training is provided covering every aspect of your role.

Previous Years Committee Members (since 2013)

2016-17 (50th Anniversary Year)

President: Matt Clark
Secretary/VP: Pete Felton
Treasurer: Artur Fernandes
Day Walk Secs: Tom Veall and James Marshall
Away Trip Secs: Jake Middleton and Arshad Emmambux
Social Secs: Zelie Seddon and Olivia Burbridge


President: Owen Johnson
Secretary: Max Hodgkins
Treasurer: Steph Breuer
Day Walk Secs: Venu Varatharajan and Matt Clark
Away Trip Secs: Katherine Palmer and Jake Rowland
Social Secs: Charlotte Newton and Joe Warmington


President: Peter Forrest
Secretary: Tom Masheder
Treasurer: Owen Johnson
Day Walk Secs: Charlotte Newton and Matt Clark
Away Trip Secs: Katherine Palmer and James Holyhead
Social Secs: Tom Candy and Joe Warmington


President: Tom Candy
Secretary: Freya Garry
Treasurer: Tom Masheder
Day Walk Secs: Tom Duckham and Ben Culpin
Away Trip Secs: Luke Brown and Peter Forrest
Social Secs: Emma Wilsher and Joe Warmington


President: Joshua Price
Secretary: Sonja Edwards
Treasurer: Nigel Dundas
Day Walk Secs: Sarah Dixon and Vicky Cox
Away Trip Secs: Tristan Balcombe and James Bennett
Social Secs: Jennifer Warhurst and Tom Candy

...Before this, the records get a little fuzzy. Sorry 'bout that!